> Announcements


Call for Nominations for the 2019 Walton Award Recipient

2018-09-03 03:41

Call for Nominations for the 2019 Walton Award Recipient
Each year at the annual conference of the National Council of Less Commonly Taught Languages, the Walton Award is presented to an individual whose career has been distinguished by selfless service and noteworthy contributions to the fostering of less commonly taught language initiatives. Named after the late A. Ronald Walton, whose tireless efforts on behalf of less commonly taught languages are remembered fondly by all who knew him, the Walton Award will be presented at the NCOLCTL annual conference at the hotel (TBA) in April from the 26th to the 28nd, 2019.  
All individual paid members of NCOLCTL are invited to make nominations. Nominations will also be entertained from official representatives of any of the NCOLCTL member organizations in good standing.
To submit a nomination, please send the items listed below via email to: secretariat@ncolctl.org
Nomination Requirements:
a) A cover letter explaining why your nominee is a worthy candidate to receive the Walton Award. Also, state how his/her career has been characterized by selfless service and noteworthy contributions on behalf of less commonly taught languages.
b) Your nominee's curriculum vitae and
c) Names and email addresses of two colleagues who would be willing to provide references on behalf of the nominee in case they are requested by the Walton Award Selection Committee. The deadline for the nomination is 
November 30, 2018

Note Below:
A LCTL organization or an individual needs to be a NCOLCTL paid member to be eligible to nominate a candidate. The selected candidate needs to register and make his/her own plans to attend the conference in order to receive the Award at the 2019 NCOLCTL annual conference at the hotel (TBA) inApril from the 26th to the 28th, 2019.  

2018 Alwiya Omar

2017 Laura Kaplan Murray, 

2016 Scott McGinnis, 
2015 Catherine Ingold, 
2014 Eyamba Bokamba, 
2013 Hong Gang Jin, 
2012 Frederick H. Jackson, 
2011 J David Edwards, 
2010 Antonia Y. Schleicher, 
2009 Michael E. Everson, 
2008 Erika Gilson, 
2007 Thomas J. Hinnebusch
Read about more past recipients here 

For more information regarding this website and news posting, please contact aatk@aatk.org

American Association of Teachers of Korean, AATK

“ Special thanks to Calligrapher Byungchul Park for Hangeul logo calligraphy ”